ffou uganda


Federation of Fisheries Organizations Uganda (FFOU) is a Non Profit making Organization national Umbrella body for all non-state actors in the Fisheries Sub-sector, currently working with 131 member Associations/Organizations which brings together all the Fishing Communities across the five great lakes of; Victoria, Kyoga, Albert, George, Edward and the surrounding districts in Uganda. FFOU was subsequently conceived in early 2011 as a loose coalition to steer involvement of the fisheries sector players in addressing the issues directly affecting the poor and marginalized groups. FFOU strategic areas of implementation contributes significantly to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and the National Development Programme (NDP III).  The fundamental and key strategic areas of implementation for the Federation of Fisheries Organisations Uganda includes;

  1. Legislations, policies and human rights
  2. Scale up comprehensive HIV/AIDS services among fisherfolk and high risk groups
  3. Integration of ICT into the fisheries subsector
  4. Climate change action to protect the eco-system
  5. Capacity building for women and youth within the fisheries business chain
  6. Sustainable development of fish farming (aquaculture and aquaponics)

Partnership and collaboration;

FFOU works with several Development partners and Line Ministries to deliver its initial core program interventions including; Ministry of Agriculture, Animals industries and Fisheries (MAAIF), GIZ-RFBCP, European Union, Uganda Aids Commission (UAC), Uganda National Aids Service Organisation (UNASO) , Directorate of Industrial Training (DIT) and Uganda Human rights Commission among others. FFOU is currently implementing a Business Development Service project (BDS) funded by GIZ-RFBCP in 7 districts of central region along Lake Victoria including; Kampala, Mpigi, Mukono, Kyotera, Masaka, Kalungu and Kalangala districts. FFOU is also providing Capacity Building  and HIV/AIDS Prevention services in 12 districts surrounded by Lake Kyoga which includes; Nakasongola, Amolatar,  Kaberamaido, Dokolo, Apac, Kwania, Serere, Ngora, Palisa, Kaliro, Buyende and Kayunga districts. Other targeted districts on Lake Albert for capacity building and HIV and AIDS prevention services include; Bulisa, Hoima, Kikube, Kagadi and Ntoroko